Book Awards

Michael L. Printz Award

for Excellence in Young Adult Literature

Michael L. Printz was a high school librarian from Kansas with a passion for connecting quality young adult novels and their authors with teen readers. Since 1997, the American Library Association has honored his contribution through the Michael L. Printz Award, given to the latest YA books that exemplify literary excellence.  If there’s a Printz medal on the cover – chances are you’re in for a great read!

Check out the official site for a complete list of past medal winners. 

Some popular Printz medal award winners that we have in our library are:  

Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi

Stolen  by Lucy Christopher

Looking for Alaska by John Green

This One Summer by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki

Eleanor and Park   by Rainbow Rowell

American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang

Canadian Library Association

Young Adult Canadian Book Award

The CLA's  Young Adult Canadian Book Award is awarded annually to an author of an English language Canadian work of fiction (novel, collection of short stories, graphic novels) which appeals to young adults between the ages of 13 and 18. 


Check out the complete winners list.


Here are some recent winners we have in our library:

This One Summer by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki

Graffiti Knight by Karen Bass

Half Brother by Kenneth Oppel

Wondrous Strange by Lesley Livingston

Eisner Award

The “Oscars” of the comic book industry

Named in honour of the pioneering writer and artist, Will Wisner, the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, commonly shortened to the Eisner Awards, are prizes given for creative achievement in American comic books.

It is sometimes referred to as the comics industry equivalent of the Academy Awards.


Check out the official site for a complete list of past award winners.


Some popular Eisner Award winners that we have in our library are:


Watchmen by Alan Moore

Y: The Last Man by Brian K. Vaughan

Locke & Key by Joe Hill

Dr. Strange #1: The Way of the Weird by Jason Aaron

Concrete: Depths #1by Paul Chadwick

Bone by Jeff Smith

Sisters by Raina Telgemeier

Age of Bronze by Eric Shanower

Blankets by Craig Thompson

National Book Award

Celebrating the best American Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Translated Literature, and Young People’s Literature since 1989

An annual award presented to U.S. authors for books published in the United States. Its mission is to “celebrate the best literature in America, expand its audience, and ensure that books have a prominent place in American culture.”

National Book Awards are currently given to one book (author) annually in each of the five categories: fiction, nonfiction, poetry, translated literature and young people’s literature.


Check out the official site for a complete list of past award winners.


Some popular National Book Award winners that we have in our library are:

Holes by Louis Sachar
The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine

What I Saw and How I Lied by Judy Blundell

Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman

Godless by Pete Hautman

Newbery Medal

Award for the most distinguished American Children's Book of the year

The John Newbery Medal is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Established in 1922, it is the first children’s book award in the world. Since then, it has remained as the best known and most discussed children’s book award.


Check out the official site for a complete list of past award winners.


Some popular Newbery Award winners that we have in our library are:


El Deafo by Cece Bell

Bomb by Steve Sheinkin

The Giver by Lois Lowry

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

Norma Fleck Award

Award for the most exceptional Canadian Children's Non-Fiction Book of the year

The Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children’s Non-Fiction was established by the Fleck Family Foundation and the Canadian Children’s Book Centre to recognize and raise the profile of these exceptional non-fiction books. The award honours Norma Fleck (1906-1998), who inspired a deep love of reading in her children and grandchildren. Dr. James Fleck, who initiated the award, is the son of Norma Fleck.


Check out the official site for a complete list of past award winners.


Some popular Norma Fleck Award winners that we have in our library are:


NotYourPrincess: Voices of Native American Women Edited by Lisa Charleyboy and Mary Beth Leatherdale

Canada Year by Year by Elizabeth MacLeod.

The Bite of the Mango Mariatu Kamara with Susan McClelland.

At Vimy Ridge: Canada’s Greatest World War I Victory by Hugh Brewster

In Your Face: The Culture of Beauty and You by Shari Graydon

The Man Who Ran Faster Than Everyone: The Story of Tom Longboat by Jack Batten

Heart and Soul: The Story of Florence Nightingale by Gena K. Gorrell  

“The following [Canadian book] awards are administered by the Canadian Children’s Book Centre.”  Follow the links below to view current and past award winners as well as finalists. To learn more about specific awards go to CCBC Book Awards.

Site Visit Counter


Monday - Thursday
7:45 am - 3:30 pm


7:45 am - 3:00 pm

Please note the Libr@ry will be closed until further notice.
Thank you for understanding.


Walnut Grove Secondary School

8919 Walnut Grove Drive

Langley, B.C. V1M 2N7

Google Maps Link

School Floor Map


Launched May 11th, 2016


Click the icon below to access

WGSS Website

Mrs. J.  Proske,
Teacher Librarian

(604) 882-0220 Local 250

Ms. M. Johnson,
Teacher Librarian
(604) 882-0220 Local 250


Mrs. R. Harpur, Library Technician

(604) 882-0220 Local 249

© 2020 by WGSS Libr@ry